When life gives you lemons…

You know the saying, “when life gives you lemons, make lemonade”? This statement is a key ingredient in my decision to becoming a hairdresser. For as long as I can remember, I have found joy in working with hair. It all started with my Barbies–cutting off all of their hair and hiding it so that my mom wouldn’t see. After haircuts, I moved into hair styling where I successfully learned to French braid hair on my Cabbage Patch Kid’s golden locks. Moving even further I began to beg my father for all of the latest hair accessories or styling tools like butterfly clips (oh dear..) and 3-barrel curling irons. I began doing everyone’s hair for homecoming and prom, for senior pictures and parties, and I never got sick of it.

I had always planned on attending school for Cosmetology and then going for a 4-year degree so that I could open my own salon. Well, then life gave me a lemon tree. I had a falling out with my family and decided to attend a 4-year school for an Accounting degree. When I look back now, I feel so silly because I put my dreams and aspirations on the back burner because I was worried about the stigma of being a hairdresser–how foolish was I? College did not work well for me. I thought that getting general education requirements was absolutely ridiculous. I didn’t want to know about Anthropology, unless it was the store Anthropologie, and I certainly didn’t find any interest in Microeconomics. I needed to feel a connection that my university couldn’t offer me. After two years of school, my lemon tree began to blossom and lemons started falling by the dozens. I had a job that I hated and was working 50 hours a week and attempting to be a full-time student. This time, I slowly started to gather those lemons and juice them. I began looking for a new position, and it turns out, a little lemon juice if the first step to lemonade.

I was hired at an Aveda Concept Salon and Spa and instantly fell in love. I was surrounded by people who were passionate and worked with one of the most fervent product lines in the world. I started to rediscover who I was–I wasn’t an dejected, unhealthy person–I was Laura–the quirky, cheerful person that loved life. With my new enthusiasm and optimism, I gave Accounting one more shot, but after another year of failure due to my lack of motivation, I decided enough was enough, and so I applied to the Institute of Beauty and Wellness. I was accepted into their Part-Time Accelerated Program scheduled to start October 9th, 2011. My soul filled up with joy, and every day I knew that I was one day closer to beginning my education towards an remarkably rewarding career.

But you know what..?

I got a few more lemons handed to me. In July, I had to have an unexpected surgery that put me off my feet for over a month. Once I returned to work, I could only work part time for two months and still couldn’t stand for my entire shift. This meant that school would have to be put on hold. Luckily, lemon juice + sugar = lemonade! By having to delay school, a position opened up at one of our locations as a Team Leader.  I was nervous going in to this position because of the responsibility that I would have along with all of the new relationships that I would have to build up. It was an amazing opportunity and I put my all into it, and it really was one of the best choices that I have ever made in my professional career thus far. I now have the best support system and have added new members to my ever growing family.

And so here I am with one amazingly, huge glass of the best lemonade I could have ever asked for. There are always going to be times in our lives when we want to throw our hands up and give up or think that our lives won’t allow us to go for something, but you know…when life gives you lemons, you make that lemonade and you enjoy every step of the recipe. No matter the condition of the lemons or the lack of sugar, if you keep at it and work hard then eventually you will find the perfect balance of ingredients. Everything will fall into place…don’t you worry.

What Do You Think?

